Cheat Sheet

This is just a sampling of the ingredients and food groups that need to be avoided if living without any of these foods. Be sure to read all labels before consumption to ensure that foods do not contain the offending ingredient. As always, if you're unsure, please check with the manufacturer. And if ever in doubt, err on the side of caution and don't eat the food. When eating in restaurants, there is always a risk of cross contamination, even if the manager has had the kitchen staff clean the grills and is using clean utensils.

As always follow your doctors advice if you have an allergy, intolerance or any other medical condition.


Grains Allowed:
Rice, Soy, Potato, Tapioca, Beans, Garfava, Sorghum, Quinoa, Millet, Buckwheat, Arrowroot, Amaranth, Teff, Montina, Flax and Nut Flours.

Grains Forbidden (in any form): Wheat (Einkorn, Durum, Faro, Graham, Kamut, Semolina, Spelt), Rye, Barley and Triticale

Foods / Products that might contain Gluten:  Corn*, Bread Crumbs, Bulgar, Cereal Extract, Club Wheat, Couscous, Cracker Meal, Beers, Ales, Lager Marinades Breading & Coating Mixes, Nutritional Supplements, Brown Rice, Syrup, Pastas, Communion Wafers, Processed Luncheon Meats, Croutons Sauces, Gravies, Dressings, Self-basting Poultry, Drugs & Over-the-Counter or Medications, Soy Sauce or Soy Sauce Solids, Energy Bars, Soup Bases, Flour & Cereal Products, Stuffings, Dressings, Herbal Supplements, Thickeners (Roux), Imitation Bacon Vitamins & Mineral Imitation Seafood Supplements, Flour (all purpose, bread, cake, enriched, graham, high gluten, high protein, instant, pastry, self-rising, soft-wheat, steel ground, stone ground, whole wheat), Wheat Grass, Whole Wheat Berries, Sprouted Wheat, Starch (gelatinized starch, modified starch, modified food starch, vegetable starch)

* Although many food lists include corn as a "safe" gluten-free product, there are many studies that are pointing to corn gluten being as damaging as wheat gluten.


Products Forbidden (in any form): Casein, Caseinate,Casein Hydrolysate, Milk, Cream, Half & Half, Yogurt, Sour Cream, Cheese (most, except some soy brands), Cottage Cheese, Butter, Sherbet, White or Milk Chocolate, Ice Cream, Ice Milk, Creamed Soups and Vegetables, Soup Bases, Puddings, Custard, Whey, Buttermilk, Diacetyl, Lactalbumin (lactalbumin phospate), Lactose, Lactulose, Milk Protein Hydrolysate, Pudding, Recaldent, Tagatoes, Whey Protein

Foods / Products that might contain Casein: Margarine, Tuna Fish, Dairy-Free Cheese (most brands), Cosmetics, Medicines, Lactic Acid, Artificial Flavorings, Semi-Sweet Chocolate, Hot Dogs, Lunch Meats, Sausage, Ghee, Artificial Butter Flavor, Caramel Candies, Margarine, Nisin, Nondairy Products, Nougat

Extra Note: All bovine milk and milk products contain casein. Avoid foods derived from goat and sheep milk, as well as cow dairy products.*


Products Forbidden (in any form): Edamame, Miso, Natto, Shoyu, Soy (soy albumin, soy cheese, soy fiber, soy flour, soy grits, soy ice cream, soy milk, soy nuts, soy sprouts, soy yogurt), Soya, Soybean (curd, granules), Soy Protein (concentrate, hydrolyzed, isolate), Soy Sauce, Tamari, Tempeh, Textured Vegetable Protein (TVP), Tofu

Foods / Products that might contain Soy: Asian Cuisine, Vegetable Broth, Vegetable Gum, Vegetable Starch

The Makings of a Family | Desenvolvido por EMPORIUM DIGITAL